Texas Peace Officers Association

The Texas Peace Officers Association is an organization comprised of approximately 364 officers of all nationalities within the Austin Police Department. The original chapter, known as the Texas Negro Peace Officers Association, began on October 17, 1935 and was the first black organization in the United States. In 1955 the association changed its name to Texas Peace Officers Association to remove the stigma from themselves as being different from other officers.

The Austin Chapter was formed in 1978 at the direction of Captains Freddie Maxwell and Louie White. The Texas Peace Officers Association hopes to make an impact within the City of Austin.


President - Sgt. Chandra Ervin

1st Vice President - Ofc. Michael Rhone

Treasurer - Det. Tonya Jefferson

Sergeant at Arms - Sgt. Orlando Smart

Public Relations - Ofc. Jermaine Kilgore

Hospitality - Det. Damon Dunn 

APA Board of Directors Representative - Sgt. Chandra Ervin